Beginnings

September 3, 2010 Comments Off on Beginnings

I seem to have a penchant for beginnings. I love getting organized at the beginning of a school year, I like colonizing a new space, and the only part of Civilization IV that I like is the part where you go around founding cities. I’ve also started several blogs, just because I like setting them up. This one may go nowhere. (The others have.) But with this one I will stipulate that I may update whenever I feel the urge, and if that means a year between posts, so be it.

I love writing. I enjoyed having a blog during my year in Paris, and I’ve enjoyed reading friends’ blogs. Therefore I want a blog. I read Julie & Julia, a book about a terrible woman who agonized over the narcissism of starting a blog (then not only started one but wrote a book about it), and I have to say that’s not how I see it. This is not to share my brilliant ideas with the world. It’s only a sort of public diary, where people I care about can see what I’ve been doing and thinking (if I’ve been writing about it). I’m not funny and I’m not particularly profound; I just want to write. So that’s what I’m doing.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beginnings at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

