Tiers of Interest

October 20, 2010 Comments Off on Tiers of Interest

As I sat disgruntled in Sedimentology/Stratigraphy today, I got to thinking about how my interest in geology seems to be waning. How sad! It was so interesting for three whole years. Part of it, I think, is that my attention span is short and majoring in something requires you to be in intimate contact with it for longer than I usually want.

But most of it has to do with my extremely complicated interest scale. There are tiers and sub-tiers and conditions and fluctuations and broken promises involved, but in general:

#1: Stuff I’m so passionately interested in that I can’t keep myself from, say, doing the homework the day it’s assigned. This is mostly stuff I do creative work in, which is why I don’t actually devour every book on these subjects. Examples: writing/reading, music, foreign languages, linguistics? (haven’t taken enough to know).

#2: Stuff I think is fascinating, but not enough so that I decide to make personal inroads on it. Generally I favor large-scale overviews but the details sometimes bore me. Examples: geology, biology, archaeology.

#3: Stuff that is very interesting to me but not in any detail whatsoever. Examples: history, chemistry, physics.

#4: Stuff that’s occasionally fun to learn about, but not for a prolonged period of time (say, an hour). Examples: philosophy.

#5: Stuff that I am immensely interested in but am profoundly untalented or uneducated in. Examples: drawing/painting, architecture, mathematics.

#6: Stuff that is only interesting when someone can point out a cool application of it. Examples: economics, politics.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tiers of Interest at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

