The Road to Tutukaka

April 14, 2011 Comments Off on The Road to Tutukaka

382 km

It was another long driving day, but we didn’t mind after the events of the day before. We drove as far as Auckland and stopped at Food Alley for lunch, then continued north to Tutukaka (I know, and I thought Takaka was bad). It’s home base for all the supposedly fantastic diving at the Poor Knights Islands. We walked into the Dive Tutukaka office, and Simon said, “Hi, I’m interested in diving tomorrow,” and the woman behind the desk replied with a big smile, “Of course you are, because it’s absolutely beautiful out there.” Everything was set up to Simon’s satisfaction in about five minutes. I was given the option to either come along on his boat, which would be gone from 8:30 to 4:15, or to go on their much-touted “Perfect Day” cruise, which was only out from 11:00 to 4:15. I said I’d think about it.

We checked into a convenient hotel and then drove to Matapouri Beach and ambled around in the fading light. The guidebook mentioned the Mermaid Pool, which sounded like a really deep, clear tide pool, and I was anxious to check it out, but it looked like there was a lot of climbing on rocks. I had just bought some cheap sockless shoes (because it was warm and I was sick of socks) that really hurt my feet, so we bailed, to my lasting disappointment.

Lamb again for dinner. Mmm.

[back-posted]

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Road to Tutukaka at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

