The Sadness of Nightfall

May 9, 2011 Comments Off on The Sadness of Nightfall

On cloudy, foggy, snowy, rainy days I turn on the Christmas lights and light a candle while I read or write. The golden light inside clashes and roils with the pale chilly light from outside and reminds me that it is a beautiful, perfect day to be writing or reading. I feel cozy and I wrap up in a blanket with a hot mug of tea. When this happens, my world shrinks to the sphere of candlelight, and everything in the world is perfect, and I love everything in the world. But then the window goes dark, and suddenly the candle isn’t enough anymore. I cannot tell you how much it would mean to me to be wrapped in candlelight all night long, happily and obliviously scribbling away. But it is not meant to be.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Sadness of Nightfall at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

