In Defense of Bad Weather

May 14, 2011 Comments Off on In Defense of Bad Weather

Today is a wonderful day deserving of happy singing, and also a blog post. I’m not sure I can go so far as to say I have seasonal affective disorder, but I definitely adore cloudy and rainy days, whereas sunny days make me unhappy, in general. Really, it doesn’t make any less sense than classic SAD. There actually isn’t anything inherently positive about sunny days, with the exception that it’s sometimes easier to do stuff outside. And from time to time I do enjoy a good sunny day as much as the next guy, but I think it’s time someone came to the defense of so-called “bad” weather.

EXHIBIT A: SLEEP. It is wonderful to sleep as rain or wind lashes the window, wonderful to sleep in on a cloudy day, wonderful to sleep with tons of blankets on (which is my primary complaint about summer).

EXHIBIT B: RAIN. Rain really is a great phenomenon. Think about it! Water falls out of the sky! It makes a pleasant sound when it hits the ground, it makes crops grow, and it runs in gutters and pools in puddles, and I think we can all agree that running water is a beautiful thing that makes a soothing sound. And thunderstorms! You know when you see a huge fork of lightning, and a couple seconds later you hear that cracking boom of thunder? Is there any sound more wonderful (if you have a bed available to hide under)? And the whole time the rain comes lashing down. Yes, it’s wet. Stop whining.

EXHIBIT C: SNOW. Why would anyone not like snow?? The big fat flakes are probably universally loved, and hopefully people haven’t forgotten what it’s like to go sledding or skiing, to have a snowball fight, or just to tromp over a field, either in the falling snow or in the clean whiteness of the next day. But even driving pellet snow is sometimes okay, especially if it’s accumulating. It’s fun to be out in, mostly, and it’s a lot of fun to drive in if you know what you’re doing. There’s no better weather than a howling blizzard, and I’ll tell you why. Because you can kneel on your windowsill and watch it. Because it makes it a good day for hot chocolate or tea. Because you can curl up in a blanket and read a book or watch a movie. Because you can go outside and fool around like a six-year-old and then come in laughing with the snow melting in your hair, and dry off and indulge in any of the activities previously mentioned.

EXHIBIT D: FOG. Fog is so cool! It makes the world look alien, and you see everything differently when it’s divorced from its usual wide-radius sphere of context. There’s no reason not to like fog. And it’s usually chilly, which is nice because I adore long sleeves and jackets. Yay!

EXHIBIT E: CLOUDS. There is absolutely no reason to dislike a cloudy day, even if you’re one of those pansies who whines about how cold and wet everything besides sun is. Bright cloudy days are even better than sunny days, if you’re doing anything outside. You can even get sunburned, if that’s what floats your boat. It keeps the heat from being unbearable, and it keeps the nasty glaring sun out of your eyes. (I hate sun in my eyes.)

Obviously there are exceptions. Every once in a while the weather will get you in a headlock and give you a painful noogie. But the bottom line is, I think people dislike weather because they don’t like dealing with it. But, as I’ve said before, the key is to be zen about it all. It’s pretty amazing, but if you put on a raincoat and accept that you’re going to get a little wet anyway, being out in the rain is not that big a deal. If you dress in warm layers and accept that you’re going to be a little cold anyway, being out in the January snow is not that big a deal. I’m convinced that this is the basis for most people’s whining about everything that isn’t bright sun, aside, of course, from serious classic SAD. As for me, I think I’m sensitive to barometric pressure: I think I dislike sunny days because they’re more prone to have high pressure. But this is just the icing on the cloudy cake for me. As long as I live, no matter what, I think I will always, always adore the days when the sun has the grace to hide its face.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Defense of Bad Weather at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

