The holidays have started early this year.

October 27, 2011 Comments Off on The holidays have started early this year.

Because I no longer live in the same city as close friends who throw awesome Halloween parties, it is almost certain that I will not dress up as anything this year, which is too bad because I was on a pretty good streak:

I have multiple great ideas for future costumes, mostly from kids’ books, but the past couple years I just…haven’t done it. Ah well.

Instead, this year I’ve skipped over Halloween entirely and moved on to Thanksgiving/Christmas at the same time. Last night I roasted a turkey breast with carrots, parsnips, and Brussels sprouts, served with mashed potatoes, ground cherry chutney (which is AMAZING, btw), and belated birthday cake with coconut-pecan frosting. Mmmmm. And while I made all this I blasted Christmas music. Oh yes I did. Christmas is my very favorite time of year, and, considering that Thanksgiving, while wonderful and foodish (were you aware that I like food?), is only a bridge to lovely lovely Christmas (which comes with MORE food!), I’ve decided that, as long as I keep it in the privacy of my own home, I can start my Christmas season as early as I want. Which means that I can also have a simultaneous Thanksgiving season. Which means that the gaping hole left where Halloween used to be will now be filled with turkey and mashed potatoes and Christmas carols. Totally acceptable.

But this may become a problem. I can manage continuous eating for a month or so, but this might be pushing it. Do I care? Not as long as there’s leftover turkey with ground cherry chutney.

Why do they call them Brussels sprouts anyway?

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The holidays have started early this year. at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

