Ci vuole un fiore

May 19, 2014 Comments Off on Ci vuole un fiore

“Black thumb” is a little too harsh. Let’s stick with “untalented.” I don’t exactly kill plants, but I coexist with them in some kind of timeless state of distant appreciation from which I occasionally emerge to find, to my constant idiot surprise, that they need water, or light, or less water, or less light. I have exactly the same response every time, the same slow glimmer of understanding that the beautiful green things might need something from me.

I am inching towards setting up my expensive but very cool Windowfarm as if it were a blind date, worrying whether the seedlings will like me and what if I blow my chance with them? There are much more serious matters I should be concerned with—life and death, for instance. If I knew any sentient plants they would be preemptively reporting me to the proper authorities and/or making plans not to come over for the next couple months.

But for what it’s worth, I like plants, and I especially like watching them lift their heads after a good watering. It’s one of my favorite things, and of course every time it happens I watch raptly, astonished, because I don’t ever seem to learn. In a similar way, I should have retained all the articles I’ve read that say that writers cannot write without reading for fuel. For the first time in a long time, I am reading for pleasure, and my poor parched little writer-plant is straightening its shoulders and brandishing its leaves, and here I am, as usual, gaping at it, as if I’d had no idea this was going to happen. It doesn’t take much rain to make a flower happy.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ci vuole un fiore at Books, Songs, Thoughts.

meta

